How Do I Get Licensed in Pennsylvania?
For PENNSYLVANIA Licensure:
To obtain your real estate license in the state of Pennsylvania you are required to complete two courses – Real Estate Practice (45 hours) and Real Estate Fundamentals (30 hours) – for a total of 75 hours. The Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission requires a student to attend at least 80% of the course and receive a passing grade in order to receive credit for the course. The two courses may be taken in any order.
Real Estate Practice
This course is designed to acquaint the student in the basic techniques, procedures, regulations, and ethics involved in a real estate transaction, along with a working knowledge of the forms and documents used including the related mathematics. This course is available at Real Estate Education Center at various times throughout the year and also online, so you can choose a time that best suits your schedule.
Real Estate Fundamentals
The course is designed to acquaint the student with the language, principles and laws that govern the business of real estate. Emphasis is on the underlying concepts of Land, Property, Rights in Realty and the means, methods and laws that govern the conveyance of these rights. This course is available at Real Estate Education Center at various times throughout the year and also online , so you can choose a time that best suits your schedule.
- Applicants must have a high school diploma or GED
- Applicants must be at least 18 years of age at the time of application for their Pennsylvania Real Estate license.
After you take the final exams for each course and pass them, you will be provided transcripts showing your completion of the class requirements (passed courses are valid for up to 10 years). The State exam must be taken within 5 years of the completion of the courses.
Upon successful passing of both courses, the student will be provided the information on how to register with PSI to take the state issued exam. The examination is given on a computer at a certified exam location, and provides on-site score reports immediately upon completion of the exam. The exam is offered in multiple locations throughout the state of Pennsylvania.
There are two parts to the state Real Estate Salesperson Examination. Students will need to provide official Score Reports from the testing service evidencing a passing score on both portions of the Real Estate Salesperson Examination (scores are valid for up to 3 years).
Additionally, a completed Criminal Background Check will need to be performed (valid for up to 90 days).
Once you have completed the Real Estate Salesperson Examination as mandated by the state, you will be eligible to affiliate with a Real Estate Broker of your choice in the state of Pennsylvania and to obtain your Salesperson’s Real Estate license.
Real Estate Education Center provides every student with the necessary paperwork to apply for the state exam including the official transcripts and the PSI Examination Application. We are here to aide you in your quest for Real Estate Salesperson licensure and help you to begin your Real Estate Salesperson career! For questions, visit the Pennsylvania Real Estate Commission website.